While it may not be your first time buying pot, it may be your first time doing so legally.
On July 1, recreational marijuana will be available in select dispensaries in both Northern and Southern Nevada, and an expected green rush is expected to follow.
While the Nevada Department of Taxation has yet to release a list of dispensaries licensed to sell recreational marijuana during the early start program, we spoke with one of the co-owners of Mynt, Joey Gilbert, about what you may need to know if you stop at a pot shop:
Where can you buy recreational pot on July 1?
Four marijuana dispensaries in Reno have received approval from city officials to sell recreational marijuana, but they are still awaiting licenses from the state. Those dispensaries include:
What do you need to buy pot?
Cash -- because marijuana still is illegal on a federal level, dispensaries deal only in cash.
You will need a driver's license or a government-issued identification card that confirms you are an adult aged 21 or over, Gilbert said. If you are a medical marijuana cardholder, then you do not need to be 21. Medical marijuana users will purchase their marijuana in a separate room.
What kind of marijuana should you buy?
There are a multitude of products that you will be able to buy, but if you are a first-time consumer then you should share that with the "budtender," Gilbert said.
If you plan on smoking and it's been a while or you are new to weed, you will want to aim for a strain that is no more than 25 percent THC, or Tetrahydrocannabinol, the psychoactive component of marijuana, according to Gilbert.
Consider that strains in the "sativa" family are usually more stimulating and make you more engaged. Gilbert recommended OG Kush and Gorilla Glue #4. Strains in the "indica" family are more relaxing and make you more withdrawn. Gilbert recommended Alien Dog and Cadillac Purple. There are also hybrid strains, which give you a mild effect of both indica and sativa.
What about edibles?
If you want to try an edible, there are all kinds of items, but you should start with a dose of no more than 10 milligrams since edibles can be extremely potent and disorienting. Be aware that you may not feel anything for several hours, according to the Nevada Department of Taxation, which is overseeing the recreational marijuana program.
How much money does it cost?
Due to an increase in taxes, prices for marijuana products will likely increase for both medical and recreational consumers. A joint (about a gram) may cost between $10 to $15, whereas an ounce (about 28 grams) might cost between $150 and $325, Gilbert said. The cost of edibles really depends on the product.
Where can you smoke or eat pot?
You cannot consume marijuana in public. You can only consume marijuana in a private residence. While you can smoke on your front porch, you cannot smoke at a concert, festival, bar or even a marijuana establishment. Tourists who purchase marijuana, in other words, have to find someone that will let them into their home.
Will your marijuana purchases be tracked by the government?
The government is not tracking your purchases of recreational marijuana.
What about driving?
Do not drive while high. Not only is it illegal but dangerous to yourself and others. Also be aware that — even after you no longer feel high — the marijuana compounds can linger in your system for several days, and even weeks, depending on your body makeup and habits. You should be aware of DUI laws and the 2 nanogram limit for marijuana in a driver's system in Nevada. Anyone who is impaired, regardless of the toxicology report, can be charged with driving under the influence. On the other hand, someone who is not impaired but proves to have marijuana in their system could also be charged with driving under the influence.
Leave a Reply.